Privacy Settings

Privacy

In the Privacy settings tab, you can set the default permission level for all website visitors and configure profile sharing between domains.

These settings are important if you use BlueConic in a situation where you first want to ask visitors for permission to build a profile. (e.g. because of European privacy legislation). If this is the case, consult with your service provider, because settings will vary for the specific use case. If you are not using a permission dialog, make sure that the default permission level is set to "level 2". When set to another level, BlueConic will store fewer properties or even no properties untill it has explicitly been granted permission by the visitor.

Default Permission

The Default Permission setting specifies the default permission level that will be applied to all website visitors. Website visitors can select their own permission level using the Opt in - Opt out interaction (if deployed). Once a website visitor has selected their own permission level, the default permission no longer applies to them. If you do not deploy the Opt in - Opt out interaction, note that your website could be out of compliance with online privacy laws that have been enacted in many countries throughout the world.

The options are:

PermissionDescription
Level 0 (opt out) BlueConic will gather no anonymous or personal information about the visitor. The result is that the visitor's experience will be impersonal and they will only be served static content.
Level 1 BlueConic gathers anonymous statistical information that is used to optimize the visitor's experience on the website.
Level 2 BlueConic will store personal data and preferences. This setting gives the website visitor the most personal experience.

Profile Sharing

In BlueConic, domain groups can be created into which domains can be placed. When two or more domains exist in a domain group, the domains share the profile of a visitor between them. This means that a visitor's profile can contain profile properties from all channels in all domains in a domain group. If a website visitor visits domains in different domain groups, they will have a visitor profile for each domain group:



In the example above, the website visitor visits a channel in Domain A and as a result, Visitor Profile 1 in Domain Group 1 is created for that visitor. The same visitor also visits a channel in Domain B and as a result, Visitor Profile 2 in Domain Group 2 is also created for that visitor. The visitor now has two profiles, one for each domain group.

If a domain is moved from one group to another, the visitor profile does not follow the visitor to the other domain group. Using the example above, if Domain A is moved from Domain Group 1 to Domain Group 2, the profile used for the visitor when they visit a channel in Domain A will be the profile from Domain Group 2, in this case Visitor Profile 2:



Before you create any domain groups, there is one default domain group named "Default Group". The Default Group cannot be deleted or renamed. Any domains that you create are always first added to the Default Group. After you create one or more groups, you can move domains freely between them.


Creating a domain group

To create a domain group, follow the steps below. Before you can create a domain group, you must first create domains.

  1. Enter the name of the new domain group in the text field.
  2. Click [Add Group].
  3. Repeat the above steps for each group you want to create. The groups you create will be listed in alphabetical order. For example:


Assigning a domain to a domain group

To assign a domain to a domain group:

  1. Expand the group containing the domain you want to assign to a different group.
  2. Drag and drop individual domains between domain groups.

Domain groups and conversion URLs

When adding domains to a domain group, keep the following in mind: if the Conversion URL for an interaction leads to a URL in a domain that is in a different domain group than the one in which the interaction or optimizer is running, no conversion will be counted. A conversion is only counted when the Conversion URL is in a domain that is in the same domain group as the domain to which the interaction or optimizer belongs.


Renaming a domain group

To rename a domain group:

  1. Hover the mouse over the domain group you want to rename until the edit icon appears to the right.
  2. Click the edit icon:

  3. Modify the domain group name and then click [OK].

Deleting a domain group

A domain group must be empty of domains before it can be deleted. To delete a domain group:

  1. Move all the domains in the group you want to delete to other groups or delete all domains that belong to the group.
  2. Hover the mouse over the domain group you want to delete until the delete icon appears to the right.
  3. Click the delete icon:

  4. Click [OK] to confirm the deletion.