User permissions

BlueConic Roles

BlueConic users are set up with roles that have a set of specific permissions for users that belong to that role. For more information on the available roles, see BlueConic Roles.

 

BlueConic Permissions

The rights that individual users have to work in BlueConic are divided into two distinct parts: role-based permissions and domain-based permission. Role-based permissions define what parts of BlueConic a user is allowed access to. All users assigned to the same role have access to the same parts of BlueConic. Domain-based write permission, on the other hand, determines the individual items within BlueConic that a user has write access to. The domain-based permission can be different for each individual user. This section explains the two levels of permission in force in BlueConic.

In this section

Domain-based permission
Role-based permission


Domain-based permission

The domain-based permission in BlueConic determines which items in BlueConic an individual user has write access to. The application manager grants write access to one or more domains for each user. This is done in the Users tab under Settings. Domain(s) are also assigned to individual items in BlueConic. On this basis, the items in BlueConic are protected at the domain level. The items in BlueConic that are protected by domain-based edit rights are:

  • Segments
  • Interactions
  • Optimizers
  • Universe management

Segments

Edit rights are assigned to a segment by selecting one or more domains from the list of all existing domains. When one or more domains is assigned to a segment, a user must have write access to all the assigned domains in order to be able to modify the segment. If a user does not have sufficient rights to edit a segment, they can only view the segment details in read-only mode. If a segment has no domains assigned to it, all users have write access for it. When a user creates a new segment, all the domains to which they have write access are automatically assigned to the new segment.

To assign a domain to a segment, do the following:

  1. In the Segment meta data section (you may need to open it by clicking the [+] icon at the top of the page) click the link next to "Edit Rights". 
  2. Type the name of a domain to search for it, then select the domain. You can add multiple domains if you want to.
  3. Click [OK] to confirm your domain selection.
  4. Click [Save] to save your changes to the segment.

Dialogues

For dialogues the domain-based edit rights are determined by the configuration on the Where tab. When a channel is added to a dialogue, the domain to which the channel belongs is added to the list of domains required for edit rights. If the dialogue runs on more than one channel, the domain for each channel is assigned to the dialogue. A user must have write access to all the assigned domains in order to be able to modify the dialogue. If no channel has been assigned to the dialogue, then all users have write access it. If a user does not have write access to a dialogue, they can view the properties of the dialogue in read-only mode.

The domains listed in the "Edit Rights" list for dialogues is read-only. Because the edit rights are based on the channel(s) on which the dialogue is running, the rights can change if a channel is added or removed.

Universe management

In the Universe Management section under Settings, users can only modify a domain to which they have write access. The domain(s) that a user has write access to are circled in gray and those for which they do not have write access are grayed out. For example:



When you click on a domain to which you have write permission and select it, it will be surrounded by a green circle. For example:



If a user does not have write access to a domain, clicking the domain has no effect.


Role-based permission

Role-based permission in BlueConic determines which parts of BlueConic a user can access. Users assigned to the same role have the exact same permissions to access the same BlueConic functionality. Note, however, that when domain-based permission is taken into account, users with the same role might not be able to modify the same items within BlueConic. For more information on the functionality that each role within BlueConic can access, see BlueConic Roles.