Adding, Modifying, and Deleting Users

In the "BlueConic Settings" menu (the cogwheel icon) you will find the "Users" menu item. Here you can manage the users authorized to log in to BlueConic. You can assign users to groups and select the domain(s) for which they have permission to manage settings.

Click the [Users] menu item to open the list of existing users. Here you can scroll through existing users or search for a particular user.

 


Adding a user

To add a new BlueConic user, open the "BlueConic Settings" menu, select the "Users" menu item and then click the [Add user] button. A new user will be created so you can configure the properties as described below.

Username

Enter a username for the new user. The username should be in the form of an e-mail address (user@domain.com, for example) and the e-mail address must be valid.

In BlueConic's Authentication process, an e-mail message containing a unique verification code will be sent to the user's e-mail address the first time they attempt to log in to BlueConic. Once the user enters the correct verification code, they can access BlueConic. More on the verification code below.

Full Name

(Optional) Enter the user's full name. The name you enter here will appear in the upper right part of the BlueConic user interface next to the "Help" and "Log Out" links. If you do not enter a full name, the user's e-mail address will appear instead.

Password

Enter the password for the user. The password must contain:

  • At least 8 characters
  • At least 1 uppercase letter
  • At least 1 lowercase letter
  • At least 1 number
  • At least 1 special character (other than digits and letters)

Roles

Select one or more roles that the new user has. The roles a user belongs to determines the BlueConic functionality that they have access to. Roles grant additional access, so if one of the user roles grants access to a function, the user can access it. See BlueConic Roles for complete information on the functionality that is available to each role.

Last Login

Displays the last login date and time for the user.

Verification Code

The verification code is the unique code that the user must submit to BlueConic the first time they log in in order to gain access to BlueConic. The verification code for a user will expire after 30 days, when logging in from an unknown environment (browser or location), or when logging in fails 3 times or more in a row. Upon successful login a new verification code will be e-mailed to the user which in turn must be submitted in order to regain access to BlueConic.

If the user doesn't receive the e-mail containing the verification code, they need to contact the Application Manager. The Application Manager can then click the "Generate verification code" link for the user in order to generate a new verification code. Using this code, the user can then log into BlueConic. Only the last generated verification code is valid. If you generate a new verification code for a user who has already successfully logged in with a different verification code, no further action is required from the user. Their new verification code will be valid for 30 days from the time the new verification code was generated.

The verification code in the mail expires after 24 hours. If the user hasn't used the code for 24 hours and logs into BlueConic, BlueConic will send an e-mail with a new verification code to the user.

A verification code can only be used once.

Password Change

If you select the "Force password change on next login" checkbox, the user must change their password the next time that they log in to BlueConic.

Domains

For users assigned any role besides "Application Manager", select the domain(s) to which the user has write permission. You can select "All Domains" or click "Choose Domains" and select one or more individual domains to which the user has write permission. Selecting "All Domains" means the user has access to all current and future domains. The domain(s) that you select for the user restrict their write permission for the items in BlueConic described below. See Domain-based permission for complete information.

Item Description
Segment Each segment in BlueConic has edit rights assigned to it. The edit rights are based on one or more domains. A user must have write permission for all domains assigned to a segment in order to be able to modify it. If no domains are assigned to a segment, then all users have write permission for it.
Interaction Each interaction in BlueConic has edit rights assigned to it. The edit rights are based on one or more domains. A user must have write permission for all domains assigned to an interaction in order to be able to modify it. If no domains are assigned to an interaction, then all users have write permission for it.
Optimizer Each optimizer in BlueConic has edit rights assigned to it. The edit rights are based on one or more domains. A user must have write permission for all domains assigned to an optimizer in order to be able to modify it. If no domains are assigned to an optimizer, then all users have write permission for it.
Universe The user can only manage domains for which they have write permission on the Universe tab under Settings.

Click [Save]. The new user appears in the list of users. See User Rights for complete information on what rights BlueConic users have to access functionality and modify items within BlueConic.


Modifying user details

To modify a user's details, follow these steps:

  1. Click the name of the user in the list to select it. The user details appear below.
  2. Modify the desired properties for the user.
  3. Click [Save].

Deleting a user

To delete a user, follow these steps:

  1. In the list of users, click the "Delete" button next to the user you want to delete.
  2. Click [OK] to confirm the deletion.